Bild
Oliver Wille

Oliver Wille

Oliver Wille was born in 1975 in Berlin and began playing the violin at age five. He studied at the conservatories of Berlin and Cologne, Indiana University Bloomington, and the New England Conservatory Boston, among others. His teachers included Eberhard Feltz, Christoph Poppen, Mauricio Fuks, Ulf Wallin, and Michèlle Auclair. 

At age 14, Oliver Wille co-founded the Kuss Quartet with Jana Kuss. He regularly hosts lecture concerts, creates new concert formats, and heads workshops. He hosts the ”Explica” series of the Hamburg Chamber Music Association, and annually gives workshops at the Heidelberger Frühling music festival. Between 2014 and 2016, he served as curator and artistic director of the quartet festival ”quartettaffairs”, held at Frankfurt’s Holzhausenschlösschen. Additionally, he is the artistic director of the Kammermusikgemeinde in Hanover and has been giving concert introductions at the Elbphilharmonie’s Recital Hall since 2017. 

In recent years, teaching has become an integral part of Wille’s work. In addition to giving various master classes, he headed the ”Graduate Quartet Program” at the Basel Academy of Music along with Walter Levin in 2010, taught chamber music at Karlruhe’s University of Music, and became Professor of String Chamber Music at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Dance in October of 2011. His institute distinguishes itself with its innovative and creative projects. After only a short time, a quartet studio of international repute was established. In the autumn of 2014, Wille was appointed International Chair in Violin at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire in England.

Oliver Wille has played in numerous orchestras and worked with Claudio Abbado, Christian Thielemann, Andris Nelsons, Kent Nagano, and Daniel Harding, among others. In 2016, the German Music Council appointed him chair of the project committee and jury of the German Music Competition. Since August 2015, Wille has served as artistic director of the Hitzacker Summer Music Festival.

 

◀︎ back to ›artistic direction‹

Bild
Oliver Wille

Oliver Wille

Oliver Wille wurde 1975 in Berlin geboren und begann mit fünf Jahren, Geige zu spielen. Ausgebildet wurde er u. a. an den Musikhochschulen Berlin und Köln, der Indiana University Bloomington sowie dem New England Conservatory Boston. Zu seinen Lehrern zählten Eberhard Feltz, Christoph Poppen, Mauricio Fuks, Ulf Wallin und Michèle Auclair.

Mit Jana Kuss gehört der damals 14-jährige zu den Gründungsmitgliedern des Kuss-Quartetts. Oliver Wille moderiert regelmäßig Gesprächskonzerte, gestaltet neue Konzertformate und leitet Workshops. Beispielsweise moderierte er die „Explica”-Reihe der Hamburger Kammermusikfreunde, ist jährlich Gast mit Workshops beim Heidelberger Frühling und gestaltete als Kurator und künstlerischer Leiter von 2014-2016 das Quartettfestival „quartettaffairs” im Frankfurter Holzhausenschlösschen. In Hannover ist er künstlerischer Leiter der Kammermusikgemeinde, in der Elbphilharmonie übernahm er seit 2017 Konzerteinführungen im Kammermusiksaal.

Zu einem Hauptbestandteil seiner Arbeit wurde in den letzten Jahren das Unterrichten. Neben zahlreichen Meisterkursen betreute er 2010 gemeinsam mit Walter Levin das „Graduate Quartet Program” an der Musikhochschule Basel, gehörte zu den Kammermusiklehrern der Hochschule Karlsruhe und übernahm schließlich im Oktober 2011 die Professur für Streicherkammermusik in Hannover. Das hochschuleigene Institut leistet durch seine innovativen und kreativen Projekte Pionierarbeit. Bereits nach sehr kurzer Zeit entstand an der Hochschule eine international erfolgreiche Quartett-Klasse. Im Herbst 2014 folgte zusätzlich der Ruf als International Chair in Violin an das Royal Birmingham Conservatoire in England.

Oliver Wille spielte in verschiedenen Orchestern und arbeitete u. a. mit Claudio Abbado, Christian Thielemann, Andris Nelsons, Kent Nagano oder Daniel Harding zusammen. 

Das Präsidium des Deutschen Musikrats hat ihn 2016 zum Vorsitzenden des Projektbeirats und der Gesamtjury des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs berufen. Seit August 2015 ist Oliver Wille Intendant der Sommerlichen Musiktage Hitzacker.

 

◀︎ Zurück zu ›Künstlerische Leitung‹