Bild
Petru Munteanu

Petru Munteanu

Petru Munteanu studied with George Manoliu in Bucarest and completed master classes with Juri Jankelevitsch (Moscow) and Michael Weiman (St. Petersburg). A lifelong artistic friendship with the distinguished Rumanian violinist Stefan Gheorghiu has shaped him as well.

Petru Munteanu was director of the Special Music School in Bucarest and taught at the Bucarest Music College. After moving to Germany in 1970 he worked as professor for violin at the music colleges of Lübeck and Hamburg. As founding professor he set up the department for strings at the newly founded College for Music and Theater Rostock in 1994, the development of which he characterized until 2010. The German section of the European String Teachers Association (ESTA) elected him president from 2000 until 2004.

Petru Munteanu's concert activities as well as his publications and lectures have made him a musician of international repute who has been invited by various music colleges to give master classes the world over. In 1986 he established the International Competition for Violin in Kloster Schöntal, for which he functions as artistic director to this day. Many of his students, among them current stars such as Baiba Skride, have become successful musicians. Petru Munteanu's experience as juror for international competitions is extensive. He has taught at the Leopold-Mozart-Center of the University of Augsburg since 2012. In 2014 he succeeded Julius Berger as artistic director of the International Violin Competition Leopold Mozart, where he served until 2017.

Petru Munteanu is Professor h.c. at the University of Brasov (Rumania). He has been honored by the Lithuanian president with the highest order of the Republic of Lithuania.

Bild
Petru Munteanu

Petru Munteanu

Petru Munteanu hat in Bukarest bei Prof. George Manoliu (Schüler von Georg Enescu) studiert und Meisterkurse bei Juri Jankelevitsch (Moskau) und Michael Weiman (St. Petersburg) absolviert. Eine lebenslange künstlerische Freundschaft mit Stefan Gheorghiu, einem der bedeutendsten rumänischen Geiger, prägte ihn ebenfalls.

Einige Jahre nach Beendigung seiner Ausbildung wurde er Direktor der Spezialschule für Musik in Bukarest. Anschließend unterrichtete er an der Musikhochschule Bukarest. Nach der Übersiedlung nach Deutschland, war er seit 1970 an der Musikhochschule Lübeck und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg als Violinprofessor tätig. 1994 erhielt er einen Ruf an die neu gegründete Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock. Als Gründungsprofessor und als Abteilungsleiter der Streicherklassen prägte er bis 2010 deren Entwicklung. Die deutsche Sektion der ESTA (European String Teachers Association) wählte ihn für die Jahre 2000-2004 zum Präsidenten.

Konzerttätigkeit, zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen und Vorträge machten Petru Munteanu im In- und Ausland bekannt. Auf Einladung verschiedener Hochschulen gab er Meisterklassen in vielen Ländern. 1986 rief er den Internationalen Violinwettbewerb und die internationalen Meisterklassen für Streicher im Kloster Schöntal ins Leben und ist seitdem deren künstlerischer Leiter.

Viele jetzt bekannte und erfolgreiche junge Geiger haben in den 26 Jahren seit der Gründung beide Veranstaltungen besucht. Als Jurymitglied wurde er zu den großen internationalen Wettbewerben eingeladen. Petru Munteanu lehrt seit 2012 am Leopold Mozart Zentrum für Musik und Musikpädagogik der Universität Augsburg. 2014 folgte er Julius Berger als Künstlerischer Leiter des Internationalen Violinwettbewerb Leopold Mozart und hatte das Amt bis 2017 inne. Er ist Professor h.c. der Universität Brasov (Rumänien) und wurde von Präsidenten der Litauischen Republik mit dem höchsten Orden der Republik Litauen ausgezeichnet.