Bild
Melanie M. Y. Chae

Melanie M. Y. Chae

After her performance of the Grieg Piano Concerto with the Ko¬rean Symphony Orchestra at the age of thirteen, Melanie M. Y. Chae was proclaimed a “sensational young pianist”. She studied with world-renowned teachers, including Patsy Toh, Yonty Solomon, and Irina Zaritskaya.

She has received awards in numerous international competitions, including first prizes at the Zinetti International Chamber Music Competition and the Maria Canals International Music Com¬petition (2004), second prizes at the Concorso Internazionale di musica ›Città di Pinerolo‹ (2001) and the Beethoven Intercollegiate Piano Competition (2001), and the special prize at the Concorso Internazionale di Esecuzione Musicale Provincia di Caltanissetta.

Melanie Chae is also a devoted chamber musician. She has performed in various chamber music concerts and collaborated with musicians such as Boris Kuschnir, Pavel Vernikov and Igor Ozim. Her chamber music partners include Julian Rachlin, Lidia Baich, Alisa Weilerstein, and her hus¬band Edwin E. S. Kim. She has recorded the Scriabin Preludes with Decca.

Chae frequently performs with Edwin E. S. Kim. Her soloist endeavors have taken her to Vienna, London, Lindau, Koblenz, Seoul, and Daegu. She has performed at venues such as St. Martin-in-the-Field, Regent’s Hall, the Purcell Room (UK), Little Angels’ Concert Hall, Seoul (Korea), the Stadt¬theater Lindau (Germany), the Gesellschaft für Musiktheater Wien, Konzerthaus (Vienna), the Palau di Musica (Spain), and many others. She has, among other ensembles, performed with the Melos Chamber Orchestra, the Korean Chamber Orchestra, the Korean Soloists, and the Bulgarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Melanie Chae has been a piano accompanist at the Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover since 2009. She has released CD albums with Edwin E. S. Kim in 2008 and in 2010. As a concert pianist, she currently performs throughout Europe and Asia. .

 

  (Status 2018, Source: Melanie M.Y. Chae)

Bild
Melanie M. Y. Chae

Melanie M. Y. Chae

Im Alter von dreizehn Jahren führte Melanie M. Y. Chae mit dem Korean Symphony Orchestra Griegs Klavierkonzert auf und wurde danach als ›sensationelle junge Pianistin‹ gefeiert. Ihre Ausbildung erhielt sie von weltberühmten Lehrern, darunter Patsy Toh, Yonty Solomon und Irina Zaritskaya.

Chae ist Preisträgerin verschiedener internationaler Klavierwettbewerbe. Sie gewann den ersten Preis der Zinetti International Chamber Music Competition und der Maria Canals International Music Competition (2004), den zweiten Preis der Concorso Internazionale di musica ›Città di Pinerolo‹ (2001) sowie der Beethoven Intercollegiate Piano Competition (2001) und den Sonderpreis der Concorso Internazionale di Esecuzione Musicale Provincia di Caltanissetta.

Melanie Chae begeistert sich außerdem für Kammermusik. Sie wirkte bei einer Vielzahl von Kammermusikaufführungen mit und arbeitete unter anderem mit Boris Kuschnir, Pavel Vernikov und Igor Ozim zusammen. Zu ihren Kammermusikpartnern zählen Julian Rachlin, Lidia Baich, Alisa Weilerstein und ihr Ehemann Edwin E. S. Kim. Für Decca spielte Chae Skrijabins ›24 Préludes‹ ein.

Chaes Auftritte – solo oder gemeinsam mit Edwin E. S. Kim – führten sie bereits nach Wien, London, Lindau, Koblenz, Seoul und in das südkoreanische Daegu. Sie spielte unter anderem in der St. Martin-in-the-Field, in der Regent’s Hall, im Purcell Room (UK), in der Little Angels’ Concert Hall, Seoul (Korea), im Stadttheater Lindau, in der Gesellschaft für Musiktheater Wien, Konzerthaus und im Palau di Musica (Spanien). Begleitet wurde sie von Ensembles wie dem Melos Chamber Orchestra, dem Korean Chamber Orchestra, den Korean Soloists und dem Bulgarischen Radiosinfonieorchester.

Melanie Chae war 2009 und 2012 offizielle Klavierpartnerin des Internationalen Joseph Joachim Violinwettbewerbs Hannover. Sie veröffentlichte 2008 und 2010 CD-Einspielungen mit Edwin E. S. Kim. Als Konzertpianistin bereiste sie Europa und Asien.

 

  (Stand 2018, Quelle: Melanie M. Y. Chae)