Bild
Ulf Schneider

Ulf Schneider

Ulf Schneider studied with Jens Ellermann in Hanover, with Felix Galimir and Masao Kawasaki at the Juilliard School in New York, and with Thomas Zehetmair in Berlin. He received a stipend from the German Academic Scholarship Foundation. He won the first price in Berlin ‘Hochschulwettbewerb’ and was awarded the ‘Kunstpreis’ of Kassel.

Together with Martin Löhr, cello, and Eckart Heiligers, piano, he founded the internationally acclaimed Trio Jean Paul. The ensemble was awarded first prizes and several special prizes at the international chamber music competitions in Melbourne and Osaka as well as at the German Music Competition in Bonn.

For over 20 years, Ulf Schneider has been active as an internationally renowned violinist, playing at famous concert halls and festivals on all five continents.

His efforts as an ensemble musician connect him with the Trio Jean Paul, the Bartholdy Quintet, and his duo partners Stephan Imorde and Jan Philip Schulze. He is often part of theme programs, especially those joining music and literature.

Schneider’s artistic activities also include collaborations with contemporary composers. In 2015, he premiered Wolfgang Rihm’s Trio Concerto at Berliner Philharmonie and subsequently performed the work with the WDR-Sinfonieorchester, the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, the NDR Radiophilharmonie Hanover, and the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich.

Since 2001, Ulf Schneider has been a professor at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media. Many of his students are prize-winners of national and international competitions, members of leading European orchestras, teachers at German music conservatories, and chamber musicians in renowned ensembles. Ulf Schneider is regularly invited to teach master classes and to serve as a juror in national and international competitions.

 

(Status 2018; Source: Ulf Schneider)

Bild
Ulf Schneider

Ulf Schneider

Ulf Schneider studierte bei Jens Ellermann in Hannover, bei Felix Galimir und Masao Kawasaki an der Juilliard School in New York und bei Thomas Zehetmair in Berlin. Er war Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, 1. Preisträger des Hochschulwettbewerbs in Berlin und ist Träger des Kunstpreises der Stadt Kassel.

Während seiner Studienzeit gründete er das Trio Jean Paul, das bei den internationalen Kammermusikwettbewerben in Melbourne und Osaka sowie beim Deutschen Musikwettbewerb in Bonn jeweils mit einem ersten Preis und weiteren Sonderpreisen ausgezeichnet wurde.

Eine umfangreiche internationale Konzerttätigkeit führt Ulf Schneider seit über 20 Jahren regelmäßig zu bekannten Konzerthäusern und Festivals auf allen Kontinenten.

Kontinuierliche Ensemblearbeit verbindet ihn mit dem Trio Jean Paul, dem Bartholdy-Quintett und im Duo mit Jan-Philip Schulze und Stephan Imorde. Darüber hinaus interessieren ihn thematisch geprägte Programme, in denen Musik und Literatur eine besondere Beziehung miteinander eingehen.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten der Gegenwart. Einen Höhepunkt bildeten 2015 die Uraufführung des ›Trio Concertos‹ von Wolfgang Rihm in der Berliner Philharmonie sowie Aufführungen dieses Werkes zusammen mit dem WDR-Sinfonieorchester, dem Dallas Symphony-Orchestra, der NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover und dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich.

Ulf Schneider war Professor an der Musikhochschule in Detmold bevor er 2001 als Professor an die Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover berufen wurde. Regelmäßig wird er zu Meisterkursen und als Juror zu Wettbewerben eingeladen. Viele seiner Studenten sind Preisträger nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe und heute als Mitglieder europäischer Orchester, als Dozenten an Musikhochschulen und als Kammermusiker bekannter Ensembles erfolgreich tätig.

 

(Stand 2018, Quelle: Ulf Schneider)