Bild
Masafumi Hori

Masafumi Hori

Masafumi Hori started playing the violin at the age of five. After graduating from Kyoto Municipal Horikawa Senior High School of Music, he moved to southern Germany to study at the University of Music Freiburg. During this time he toured across Europe as a soloist of ‘Ensemble Heidelberg’.

In 1973, he played Wieniawski’s Violin Concerto No.1 with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra. The following year, he was named First Concertmaster of ‘Staatsorchester Darmstadt’. While performing throughout Europe with different orchestras, Hori expanded his activities as a soloist and chamber musician.

His performance of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto with the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokyo in 1979 brought him into the public spotlight. The same year, Hori became the orchestra’s concertmaster and has been leading it for the past 35 years. In 2015, he was also named Honorary Concertmaster. Hori is also an active as soloist, gives recitals, and performs chamber music. For his dedication to the NHK Symphony Orchestra he received the Arima Prize.

In addition to his performing career, he serves as a juror for numerous international competitions such as Geneva International Music Competition, International Violin Competition Leopold Mozart, and International Louis Spohr Competition for Young Violinists. He is a Professor at the Toho Gakuen College of Music and at the Tokyo University of the Arts.

(Status 2018, Source: Masafumi Hori)

Bild
Masafumi Hori

Masafumi Hori

Masafumi Hori begann im Alter von fünf Jahren mit dem Geigenspiel. Nach seinem Abschluss an der ›Kyoto Municipal Horikawa Senior High School of Music‹ ging er nach Süddeutschland, um an der Hochschule für Musik in Freiburg zu studieren. Während seines Studiums spielte er als Solist des Ensembles Heidelberg europaweit Konzerte.

1973 spielte er Wieniawskis Violinkonzert Nr. 1 mit dem Radio-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt. Im folgenden Jahr wurde er Erster Konzertmeister des Staatsorchester Darmstadt. Neben Auftritten mit verschiedenen Orchestern in ganz Europa erweiterte Hori seine Tätigkeiten kontinuierlich im Bereich der Solo- und Kammermusik.

Die Aufführung des Tschaikowsky-Violinkonzerts mit dem NHK Symphony Orchestra in Tokio im Jahr 1979 machte ihn einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt. Im selben Jahr wurde er zum Konzertmeister ernannt. Mittlerweile leitet er das Orchester seit 35 Jahren und übernahm 2015 den Posten des ›Honorary Concertmaster‹. Darüber ist Hori als Solist aktiv, spielt Rezitale und Kammermusik. Für seine Verdienste um das NHK Symphony Orchestra erhielt er den Arima-Preis.

Neben seiner Konzerttätigkeit ist er als Juror für zahlreiche internationale Wettbewerbe wie den Internationalen Musikwettbewerb Genf, den Inter-nationalen Violinwettbewerb Leopold Mozart und den Internationalen Louis Spohr Wettbewerb für Junge Geiger tätig. Er ist Professor am Toho Gakuen College of Music und an der Tokyo University of the Arts.

 

(Stand 2018, Quelle: Masafumi Hori)