Only days left...

Peter Francesco Marino

Peter Francesco Marino studied the piano, composition and conducting in Würzburg. He is engaged in many different areas of teaching, for example as a tutor for chamber music, piano, ear training and music theory at the Lower Saxony State Music Council. For six years he was Artistic Director of the ›Hannoverscher Oratorienchor‹. Marino recently moved back to his birthplace, Munich, where he works at the Garching School of Music, and since the summer of 2010 has been the Director of the ›Vokal-Ensemble Icking‹.

Marino has won a number of awards for his compositions at national and international competitions, and has several times received grants-in-aid from the ›Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation‹.

His works are frequently performed both in Germany and abroad. Most recently, various works for mixed choir and string orchestra were performed, as were a work commissioned by the Lower Saxony State Music Council for the Lower Saxony Youth Symphony Orchestra and a work commissioned for the Carte Blanche Clarinet Festival for New Music.

In 2004, ›Puss in Boots‹, a musical fairy tale for wind quintet and narrator, was produced by North German Broadcasting (NDR) in Hannover, and is available on CD. Puss is still making great strides as it tours all over Germany, and also through Austria under the auspices of ›Jeunesses musicales Österreich‹. In view of the great interest in this work, Marino has been commissioned to write a kind of sequel: In June 2012, the Venus Quintet Salzburg gave the first performance of his setting of Otfried Preussler’s ›The Little Witch‹ at the Salzburg Mozarteum.

For many years now, Marino has been intensively involved in opera. He has taken part several times in the Rheinsberg Opera Workshop for librettists and composers. In 2007 he was commissioned by the State Opera Hannover to set to music a libretto by the cartoonist F. K. Waechter. The opera ›Mutter Bajazzo‹ (Mother Pagliacci) was performed in Hannover during the 2007/08 season, and was such a success that it was revived in the 2009/10 season.

Marino received a bursary from the Lower Saxony State Ministry for Science and Culture for the composition of his children’s opera ›Richard‹.  (Status 2012, Source: Peter Francesco Marino)

back to ›Composers‹

Noch Tage...

Peter Francesco Marino

Peter Francesco Marino studierte in Würzburg Klavier, Komposition und Orchesterleitung. Er ist in vielfältiger Weise pädagogisch tätig, u. a. als Dozent für Kammermusik, Klavier, Gehörbildung und Musiktheorie beim Landesmusikrat Niedersachsen. Sechs Jahre lang war er künstlerischer Leiter des Hannoverschen Oratorienchors. Vor kurzem ist Marino in seine Geburtsstadt München gezogen. Dort arbeitet er an der Musikschule Garching und leitet seit Sommer 2010 das Vokal- Ensemble Icking.

Für seine Kompositionen erhielt Marino diverse Auszeichnungen bei nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerben und wurde mehrfach von der ›Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung‹ gefördert.

Er wird im In- und Ausland viel gespielt. Zuletzt erklangen verschiedene Werke für gemischten Chor und Streichorchester sowie eine Auftragskomposition vom Landesmusikrat Niedersachsen für das Niedersächsische Jugendsinfonieorchester und eine Auftragskomposition für das ›Carte blanche Klarinetten-Festival für Neue Musik‹.

2004 wurde ›Der gestiefelte Kater‹, ein musikalisches Märchen für Bläserquintett und Erzähler, vom NDR Hannover produziert und ist als CD erhältlich. Derzeit tourt der Kater mit großen Schritten durch ganz Deutschland und unter der Schirmherrschaft der ›Jeunesses musicales Österreich‹ auch durch Österreich. Wegen des großen Interesses wurde Marino beauftragt, ein Nachfolgewerk zu schreiben. Im Juni 2012 spielte das Ventus Quintett Salzburg im Salzburger Mozarteum die Uraufführung seiner Vertonung von ›Die kleine Hexe‹ von Otfried Preußler.

Seit vielen Jahren setzt sich Marino intensiv mit der Gattung Oper auseinander. Er war mehrfach Teilnehmer der Rheinsberger Opernwerkstatt für Librettisten und Komponisten. 2007 beauftragte ihn die Staatsoper Hannover, ein Libretto des Karikaturisten F. K. Waechter zu vertonen. Die Oper ›Mutter Bajazzo‹ wurde in der Spielzeit 2007/08 in Hannover gespielt und wegen ihres großen Erfolgs in der Spielzeit 2009/10 wieder aufgenommen.

Für die Komposition seiner Kinderoper ›Richard‹ erhielt Marino ein Stipendium vom Niedersächsischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur.  (Stand 2012, Quelle: Peter Francesco Marino)

 

zurück zu ›Komponisten‹