Only days left...

Henryk Mikolaj Górecki

Henryk Mikolaj Górecki was born in 1933 near Rybnik in Polish Silesia. After musical studies in Rybnik and Katowice, he began making his mark as a composer in the mid-1950s, at the forefront of the Polish avant-garde.

His early works show a clear development from the folk-influenced worlds of Syzmanowski and Bartók to the modernist techniques of Webern and Boulez, as demonstrated in his Symphony No. 1 (1959). During the 1960s, Górecki continued in a radical direction in the ›Genesis‹ (1962-63) and ›Muzyczka‹ (1967-70) cycles, while continuing to explore the folk music traditions of his beloved Tatra region in such works as ›Three Pieces in Old Style‹ (1963).

The simple yet monumental style for which Górecki is today renowned became fully established in the 1970s with such works as the Symphony No. 2 ›Copernican‹ (1972), the much-lauded Symphony No. 3 ›Symphony of Sorrowful Songs‹ (1976) and ›Beatus Vir‹ for chorus and orchestra (1979). Withdrawing from public life in the early 1980s, Gorécki concentrated on choral settings and chamber music.

In the end-1980s, Henryk M. Górecki's music has enjoyed increasing popularity on the international level. This renewed interest has led to the composition of two major string quartets, ›Already It Is Dusk‹ (1988) and ›Quasi una fantasia‹ (1991), both commissioned for the Kronos Quartet. In addition to being featured at numerous international festivals, Górecki's compositions have appeared in a series of highly successful new recordings on the Nonesuch and Decca Argo labels. (Status 1997, Source: Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki)

back to ›Composers‹

Noch Tage...

Henryk Mikolaj Górecki

Henryk Mikolaj Górecki wurde 1933 bei Rybnik in Schlesien geboren. Seine Musikausbildung erhielt er in Rybnik und Katowice. Bereits Mitte der 50er Jahre erregten seine Kompositionen als Beitrag zur polnischen Avantgarde Aufsehen.

Góreckis frühe Werke zeigen eine klare Entwicklung von der Volksmusik-Tradition eines Syzmanowski oder Bartók bis hin zu den modernen Techniken. Seine Symphonie Nr. 1 (1959) zeigt dies besonders deutlich. In den 60er Jahren verlief Góreckis Entwicklung einerseits radikaler, etwa in den Zyklen ›Genesis‹ (1962-63) und ›Muzyczka‹ (1967-70). Andererseits knüpfte er weiterhin an die Volksmusiktradition der Tatra an (›Three Pieces in Old Style‹, 1963).

Der einfache aber monumentale Stil, der Góreckis Arbeit heute kennzeichnet, entwickelte sich in den 70er Jahren in solchen Werken wie der Symphonie Nr. 2 ›Copernican‹ (1972) und der vielgelobten Symphonie Nr. 3 ›Symphony of Sorrowful Songs‹ (1976) sowie ›Beatus Vir‹ für Chor und Orchester (1979). Górecki zog sich in den 80er Jahren aus der Öffentlichkeit zurück und widmete sich zunehmend der Chor- und der Kammermusik.

Ende der 80er Jahre erfreute sich die Musik Henryk M. Góreckis zunehmend internationaler Beliebtheit. Dieses erneute Interesse führte auch zu zwei Auftragswerken für das Kronos Quartett, ›Already It Is Dusk‹ (1988) und ›Quasi una fantasia‹ (1991). Seine Musik wird bei zahlreichen internationalen Festivals gespielt und ist in einer erfolgreichen Aufnahmereihe für Nonesuch und Decca Argo festgehalten. (Stand 1997, Quelle: Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki)

zurück zu ›Komponisten‹